Random thoughts from Pencefn

…. an engineer, singer and photographer living in Scotland

Chadbury Farm Shop – 17 February 2012

Leave a comment

Chadbury Farm Shop

Chadbury Farm Shop


Whilst avoiding some of Britain’s busiest sections of motorways, including one 13 miles of roadworks, I drove through the Vale of Evesham, part of the country I have not been through before. Taking the A44 towards Oxford, I came across Chadbury Farm Shop at the north end of the Evesham bypass. I loose count of the number of shops and other emporium I drive past. This time I stopped. Not sure why, maybe it was because it was on a roundabout, so I had to slow down.

So on impulse I stopped. It proved the right thing to do. This farm shop opened its doors on the 1 September 2011. Once inside, I found a light and airy shop with a large selection of products. At one end was a selection of alcoholic drinks, including a selection of flavoured gins (including Raspberry and Seville Orange flavours – under the name of Tipsy Fruit Gins), bottled real ales, cider and wine. These locally produced alcoholic drinks were complimented with cordials.

At the other end of the store was the chill cabinet with a selection of bacons and sausages. I bought a pack of free range chicken breasts.

The other range that caught my eye was the Stokes Sauces. I came away with their Tomato Ketchup, Brown Sauce, Sweet Chilli Sauce and Balsamic Sauce. Finally to compliment the chicken breasts I purchased, was a jar of Coronation Sauce.

Upon entering the shop, I was warmly greeted. Without being overbearing, the service was attentive, with me being left to browse. Upon reaching the cashdesk, I was asked if I would like to sample the flavoured gin I had bought. I declined, however I did decide to select a second bottle. I was also given two leaflets on the flavoured gins.

In the car park there were several items of classic farm machinery on display, which remind those visiting that this farm has been in the same family for five generations.

As I write this, the recipient of the flavoured gins has had two glasses of the Raspberry Gin, which was enjoyed.

If you find yourself within striking distance of Evesham, then the Chadbury Farm Shop is well worth a visit.

Author: Stewart

An instrumentation engineer who enjoys photography and singing. Working in the West of Scotland; a member of St Mary's Cathedral Glasgow and Southwark Cathedral; and a volunteer guard/signalman on the Ffestiniog Railway in North Wales.

Leave a Reply

