Random thoughts from Pencefn

…. an engineer, singer and photographer living in Scotland

Holy Week 2013 – Monday

Leave a comment

My song is love unknown,
My Saviour’s love to me,
Love to the loveless shown,
that they might lovely be.
O who am I, that for my sake,
My Lord should take frail flesh and die?

He came from his blest throne,
salvation to bestow;
but sin made blind, and none
the longed-for Christ would know,
But O, my friend, my friend indeed,
who at my need his life did spend!

As we enter Holy Week, for Monday here is the first two verses from Samuel Crossman’s hymn My song is love unknown, normally sung to the music of John Ireland.

Reflecting on Jesus being God made flesh and become human. From his nativity and his years of teaching, it moves us to the pain and passion of Holy Week. Jesus came to teach and guide us. He challenged the authorities in first century Palestine – Roman and Jewish. As Crossman infers, God loves us unconditionally he comes from on high to join us. He is our friend and is always there for us.

Do we realise this?

Throughout Holy Week 2013, I am also following Beth’s Journey. I commend you to read her postings, which will be using the visual imagery of the Stations of the Cross from the American Artist Gwyneth Leech commissioned by Saint Paul’s on the Green in Norwalk Connecticut in 2004.

As the week progresses I will link to the various posts of Beth.

Author: Stewart

An instrumentation engineer who enjoys photography and singing. Working in the West of Scotland; a member of St Mary's Cathedral Glasgow and Southwark Cathedral; and a volunteer guard/signalman on the Ffestiniog Railway in North Wales.

Leave a Reply

