Random thoughts from Pencefn

…. an engineer, singer and photographer living in Scotland

First Sunday in Lent 2014 – Temptation

Leave a comment

The readings for First Sunday in Lent tell the stories of the temptation of Eve by the Serpent in the Garden of Eden in the book of Genesis and of Jesus in the wilderness in the Gospel of Matthew.

The Gwyneth Leech murals at the crossing of St Mary’s Cathedral include a depiction of the tempting of Adam and Eve by the serpent.

Eve and Adam being tempted in the Garden of Eden.

Eve and Adam being tempted in the Garden of Eden.
Mural by Gwyneth Leech at St Mary’s Cathedral

The hymn by Synesius of Cyrene tells of the burden of temptation.

Lord Jesus, think on me,
and purge away my sin;
From earthborn passions set me free,
and make me pure within.

Lord Jesus, think on me,
with care and woe opprest;
let me thy loving servant be,
and taste thy promised rest.

Lord Jesus, think on me,
amid the battle’s strife.
in all my pain and misery
be thou my health and life.

Lord Jesus, think on me,
nor let me go astray;
through darkness and perplexity
point thou the heavenly way.

Lord Jesus, think on me,
when flows the tempest high:
when on doth rush the enemy,
O Saviour, be thou nigh.

Lord Jesus, think on me,
that, when this life is past,
I may the_eternal brightness see,
and share thy joy at last.

Author: Stewart

An instrumentation engineer who enjoys photography and singing. Working in the West of Scotland; a member of St Mary's Cathedral Glasgow and Southwark Cathedral; and a volunteer guard/signalman on the Ffestiniog Railway in North Wales.

Leave a Reply

